Header Bild

Advanced Level

NATM – New Austrian Tunnelling Method (University Course)

Course aim and target audience

The university course “NATM-Engineer” (New Austrian Tunnelling Method) was introduced in response to the globally increasing demand for qualified tunnel engineers. Traditional educational courses relating to the mining industry, civil engineering and engineering geology only address a few sections of this vast field of knowledge. This university course is also offered, by extension, as a master’s programme and provides in-depth professional knowledge in the fields of geo-technology and tunnel construction, with particular focus on the NATM (New Austrian Tunnelling Method). It is the only course of its kind in the world.
The education is designed for engineers with previous structural or mining engineering training, as well as geotechnical engineers and engineering geologists with an extensive technical background desiring to specialize in the field of NATM.

Course contents and focus

The students will be theoretically and practically prepared to construct tunnels according to the characteristics of the “New Austrian Tunnelling Method”, that means planning independently, executing the project from a responsible position or attending it in a consulting position – with special responsibilities in geotechnical, static, organisational, contractual and economic matters.

Skills and expertise

Graduates of the course will be prepared for planning, consulting and construction supervision responsibilities required in engineering offices, construction management for construction companies, building contractors and/or position of responsibility at government agencies.

Entry requirements

Completion of a relevant Master degree from a national university or equal degree from a relevant national or international post-secondary school.
Completion of a relevant Bachelor degree and at least three years of relevant professional experience or a relevant secondary vocational school and at least five years of relevant professional experience in a leading position.

Degree and title

University course: Academic NATM Engineer
Master course: Master of Engineering

Header Bild

Weiterbildung

NATM Engineer (Universitätslehrgang)

Ziel und Zielpublikum

Der Universitätslehrgang „NATM-Engineer“ (New Austrian Tunnelling Method) wurde eingerichtet, um der weltweit steigenden Nachfrage nach qualifizierten Tunnelbauingenieuren nachzukommen. Traditionelle Ausbildungen im Bergbau-, Bauingenieurwesen und der Ingenieurgeologie decken nur Teilbereiche dieses Know hows ab. Die Ausbildung wird als Universitätslehrgang und weiterführend auch als Master-Lehrgang angeboten und vermittelt weiterführende Fachkenntnisse im Fachgebiet der Geotechnik und des Tunnelbaus mit spezifischem Fokus auf die NATM (die Österreichische Tunnelbaumethode) und ist weltweit einzigartig.
Die Ausbildung richtet sich an IngenieurInnen mit einer bautechnischen oder bergbautechnischen Ausbildung, sowie GeotechnikerInnen und IngenieurgeologInnen mit ausgeprägt technischer Ausbildung, welche sich auf dem Gebiet der NATM spezialisieren wollen.

Inhalte und Studienschwerpunkte

Die TeilnehmerInnen werden fachlich und praktisch darauf vorbereitet, Tunnel nach den Prinzipien der „Neuen Österreichischen Tunnelbaumethode“ zu errichten, d.h. selbständig zu planen, den Bau in verantwortungsvoller Position durchzuführen oder beratend zu begleiten – mit besonderen Kompetenzen in geotechnischer, statischer, organisatorischer, vertraglicher und wirtschaftlicher Sicht.

Kompetenzen

Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Lehrganges werden auf Planungs-, Beratungs- und Bauüberwachungstätigkeiten für Ingenieurbüros, die Übernahme der Aufgabe von Bauleitungen für Baufirmen aber auch für die Aufgaben des Bauherren bzw. für Aufgaben von Behörden in verantwortlicher Funktion vorbereitet.

Voraussetzungen

Abschluss eines einschlägigen Masterstudiums an einer inländischen Universität oder gleichwertiger Abschluss an einer einschlägigen in- oder ausländischen postsekundären Bildungseinrichtung.
Abschluss eines einschlägigen Bachelorstudiums und einer mindestens dreijährigen einschlägigen Berufserfahrung oder einer einschlägigen berufsbildenden höheren Schule und einer mindestens fünfjährigen einschlägigen Berufserfahrung in leitender Position.

Abschluss und Titel

Abschluss des Universitätslehrganges „Academic NATM Engineer“
Abschluss des Master Lehrganges „Master of Engineering“

Organisatorischer Ablauf, Termine und Kontakt